Students throughout Northeast named distinguished scholars

Thirty-three stu­dents from five Cath­ol­ic high schools serving North­east Phil­adelphia have been named dis­tin­guished schol­ars by Arch­bish­op Charles Chaput, who re­cog­nized the honorees dur­ing the Aca­dem­ic Hon­ors Con­voc­a­tion last Tues­day at the Cathed­ral Ba­silica of Saints Peter and Paul. Pri­or to the con­voc­a­tion, Chaput was the main cel­eb­rant dur­ing a Liturgy of the Word.

The stu­dents are ranked in the top of their seni­or classes and were chosen for the hon­or for their aca­dem­ic suc­cess and ded­ic­a­tion to school­work. This year, 158 Arch­dioces­an stu­dents were se­lec­ted for this elite group ac­cord­ing to their cu­mu­lat­ive rank­ing at the end of the first semester of their seni­or aca­dem­ic year.

Each honoree was presen­ted with a com­mem­or­ative medal. Kath­leen Dolan, a seni­or from Merion Mercy Academy, de­livered a speech on be­half of the honorees dis­cuss­ing the top­ic “Cath­ol­ic Edu­ca­tion: A Found­a­tion for a Life­time.”

Honorees from Arch­bish­op Ry­an were Dani­elle C. Al­ten­bur­ger, Craig J. Carr, Chris­toph­er De­Pas­cale, Jef­frey F. Durelli, Ben­jamin P. Kates, Patrick Lam, Sarah A. Mur­ray, Mary T. O’Leary, Melissa Sch­weizer, Daniel B. Turn­er, Elena J. Varela and Tarmily Wen.

Fath­er Judge honorees in­cluded Thomas E. Kahn, Daniel C. Logh­ing, Mi­chael J. McLaugh­lin Jr., Ry­an F. Mulville, Mi­chael G. Pat­ter­son, An­drew J. Pet­rosky, Justin M. Roarty and Wil­li­am J. Wal­lace.

Little Flower stu­dent honorees in­cluded Rose C. Pisacano, Sarah E. Plum­mer, Colleen C. Sten­gel, Debra Stor­brauck and Mary Kate Walsh.

From Naz­areth Academy, Paige M. Gi­an­for­tu­ne, Isa­bel C. Ma­han and Madeleine L. Parkes were honored.

Saint Hubert honorees were Chid­inma C. Ak­pun­onu, Megan P. Chath­am, Jill­ian M. Sal­wach, Brittney M. Thompson and Lauren B. Weeks. ••

You can reach at

comments powered by Disqus