Three River Wards schools will close

After the School Re­form Com­mis­sion voted Thursday night, three River Wards schools were not spared from the largest mass pub­lic school clos­ure in Phil­adelphia his­tory.

Charles Car­roll High School, 2700 E. Au­burn St., Douglas High School, 2700 E. Hunt­ing­don St., and Sherid­an West  Academy, 3701 Frank­ford Ave. will all close in June after a un­an­im­ous vote Thursday night by the School Re­form Com­mis­sion. 

19 people, in­clud­ing Amer­ic­an Fed­er­a­tion of Teach­ers pres­id­ent Randi Weingarten, were ar­res­ted when they tried to block SRC mem­bers’ en­trance in­to the meet­ing.

The SRC did vote to keep four schools open. The schools that were saved are: T.M. Peirce Ele­ment­ary in North Phil­adelphia, Roosevelt Middle in East Ger­man­town, Taylor Ele­ment­ary in Hunt­ing Park and Paul Robe­son High in West Phil­adelphia.

Last Thursday, about 75 stu­dents at Charles Car­roll High School in Port Rich­mond pro­tested the po­ten­tial clos­ing of their school. Car­oll stu­dents in par­tic­u­lar had been very act­ive in fight­ing to keep the school open, along with rep­res­ent­at­ives from edu­ca­tion ad­vocacy group, Youth United for Change.

Stu­dents from Car­roll and Douglas will now have the op­tion of trans­fer­ring to Kens­ing­ton Busi­ness School, Kens­ing­ton Urb­an Edu­ca­tion Academy, Kens­ing­ton Health Sci­ences, or Mast­baum AVTS High School.

Stu­dents from Sherid­an West Academy will be re­as­signed to Penn Treaty Middle School, 600 E. Thompson St. Be­gin­ning in Septem­ber, Penn Treaty will ex­pand to in­clude grades 9 through 12, and will also be­come a re­as­sign­ment op­tion for Car­roll and Douglas Stu­dents.

Hack­ett Ele­ment­ary School, 2161 E. York St., will not close, but will lose stu­dents in grades 5 and 6, who will also trans­fer to Penn Treaty Middle School.

Check back for up­dates.

Man­aging Ed­it­or Mi­kala Jam­is­on can be reached at 215-354-3113 or at mjam­is­

You can reach at

comments powered by Disqus