Chamber awards students scholarships

A mo­ment of glee: The Great­er North­east Phil­adelphia Cham­ber of Com­merce Schol­ar­ship Found­a­tion held its an­nu­al awards din­ner on June 20. Eight loc­al stu­dents were awar­ded schol­ar­ships dur­ing the event. Pic­tured are (left to right) Tre­vor Sta­cey, Rivka Hor­witz, Shan­non McHugh, Kerri Kirlin, Christine Kirlin, Nich­olas Pables and Krista Zerkow (kneel­ing), the Muller Schol­ar­ship Re­cip­i­ent. Not pic­tured is Joseph McHugh, who was in class at Temple Uni­versity. MARIA POUCH­NIKOVA / TIMES PHOTO

The Great­er North­east Phil­adelphia Cham­ber of Com­merce Found­a­tion last week gran­ted col­lege schol­ar­ships to eight loc­al stu­dents.

The re­cip­i­ents in­cluded two re­cent high school gradu­ates, Shan­non McHugh (Phil­adelphia Academy Charter School, West Chester Uni­versity) and Tre­vor J. Sta­cey (Arts Academy at Ben­jamin Rush, East­ern Uni­versity).

Awards also went to the fol­low­ing six cur­rent col­lege stu­dents: Krista Zerkow (Holy Fam­ily Uni­versity), Christine Kirlin (Widen­er Uni­versity School of Law), Nich­olas Pables (King’s Col­lege), Joseph McHugh III (Temple Uni­versity Fox School of Busi­ness), Kerri Kirlin (Peirce Col­lege) and Rivka L. Hor­witz (Pace Uni­versity’s phys­i­cian as­sist­ant pro­gram).

The awards din­ner took place on June 20 at Brook­side Man­or at Somer­ton Springs, in Feasterville.

Each stu­dent re­ceived a schol­ar­ship worth $1,100.

The found­a­tion raised money at a “Hail to the Chefs” culin­ary event, a Wo­men­For­ward lunch­eon and a Wo­men­For­ward con­fer­ence.

The con­test is open to North­east res­id­ents who at­tend col­lege. Can­did­ates were judged by their grades, an es­say and two let­ters of re­com­mend­a­tion.

The found­a­tion has provided 53 schol­ar­ships since the pro­gram was es­tab­lished in 2007.

Rose McMe­nam­in, vice pres­id­ent of re­tail busi­ness de­vel­op­ment at 3rd Fed Bank, chairs the found­a­tion. Oth­er lead­ers are vice chair­man Robert Womb­well, treas­urer Joseph Healey and sec­ret­ary Mary Ann Ben­ner. Board mem­bers are Mike Lo­gan, Sally Dan­ciu, Nancy Moroz­in, Jef­frey Miller and Al Tauben­ber­ger.

For in­form­a­tion about how to ap­ply for next year’s schol­ar­ships, vis­it­pccfound­a­ ••

You can reach at

comments powered by Disqus